ORDINANCE NO. 1330

ORDINANCE DISSOLVING DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AND AUTHORIZING RELATED MATTERS

WHEREAS, Town Council (the "Town Council") of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana (the "Town") has previously established, in accordance with Indiana Code 36-7-11.9 and 36-7-12 (collectively, the "Act"), and under Ordinance No. 447, adopted by the Town Council on May 10, 1976, as amended, a Department of Economic Development (the "Department") for the Town, controlled by a Commission (the "Commission") presently known as the "St. John Economic Development Commission"; and

WHEREAS, the Town Council has determined that the Department and the Commission, as currently constituted, no longer serve the purposes for which Department and the Commission were established by this Town Council; and

WHEREAS, this Town Council finds it necessary to dissolve the Department and the Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED by the Town Council of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana, as follows:

- <u>Section 1</u>. This Town Council hereby dissolves the Department and hereby dissolves the Commission.
- <u>Section 2</u>. After adoption of this Ordinance, the current members of the Commission will no longer hold their positions as Economic Development Commissioners for the Town.
- Section 3. Any officer of the Town is hereby authorized and directed, for and on behalf of the Town, to execute and deliver any instrument or take any other action as such officer determines to be necessary or desirable to accomplish the purposes of this Ordinance, such determination to be conclusively evidenced by such officer's having executed such instrument or having taken such action, and any such officer's having executed and delivered any such instrument or having taken any such action is hereby ratified and approved.

Section 4. This Ordinance shall be effective immediately upon its adoption.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Town Council of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana, this 29th day of January, 2004.

22 m

TOWN COUNCIL OF TOWN OF ST. JOHN, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA

Michael S. Fryzel - President

Jerri A. Teibel - Vice-President

Charles E. Pearson

Mark Barenie

ATTEST:

Clerk-Treasurer

Sherry P. Sury