TOWN OF ST. JOHN, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA

RESOLUTION NO. _ _ 12-09-13

A RESOLUTION OF THE TOWN OF ST. JOHN, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA, DESIGNATING U.S. HIGHWAY 41 (WICKER AVENUE) THROUGH THE LIMITS OF MUNICIPALITY AS A "PURPLE HEART TRAIL".

WHEREAS, the Town Council of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana, (hereinafter the "Town Council") recognizes it is necessary to never forget those persons who have made the ultimate sacrifice and shed their blood in defense of this great nation; and

WHEREAS, the Town Council understands and acknowledges that "The National Purple Heart Trail System" is already established throughout the American Interstate Highway System, in the lower forty-eight (48) states, as well highways in Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and Puerto Rico; and

WHEREAS, U.S. Highway 41 (Wicker Avenue) through the Town of St. John is geographically prominent and will support credence to those dedicated routes, allowing our community to join this proud effort to recognize "The National Purple Heart Trail System"; and

WHEREAS, the Town Council acknowledges that the placement of signs indicating "The National Purple Heart Trail System" will in no way change the numerical designation of U.S. Highway 41 (Wicker Avenue); therefore

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE TOWN COUNCIL OF THE TOWN OF ST. JOHN, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA, AS FOLLOWS:

SECTION ONE: That the Town Council of the Town of St. John hereby encourages the Indiana Department of Transportation to designate U.S. Highway 41 (Wicker Avenue) through the boundaries of St. John, as part of the "Purple Heart Trail".

SECTION TWO: That in order to inform all travelers through our community about the "Purple Heart Trail", signage will be strategically located at the North and South limits of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana.

SECTION THREE: That this Resolution shall take effect, and be in full force and effect from and after its approval by the Town Council in conformance with applicable law.

ALL OF WHICH IS	PASSED AND APPROVED	BY THE TOWN	COUNCIL OF
THE TOWN OF ST. JOHN	PASSED AND APPROVED LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA,	THIS 134 DAY	OF listantie
, 2012.			

TOWN OF ST. JOHN, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA, TOWN COUNCIL

Michael S. Forbes, President

Mark Barenje, Vice-President

Kenneth D. Gembala, Member

Grégory J. Volk, Member

Larry Bustamante, Member

ATTEST

Sherry P/Sury, IAMC, CMC,

Clerk-Treasurer