## RESOLUTION #12-27-93

WHEREAS, the Towns of Highland, Schererville, St. John and Dyer, Indiana have formed an entity by Interlocal Cooperation Agreement, pursuant to Indiana Law, commonly referred to, for the purpose of this Resolution, as Quad Town;

WHEREAS, on January 26, 1993, a presentation was made to Quad Town by Safety Works, Inc., of Fort Wayne, Indiana, proposing the creation of a "Safety Village" facility within the Quad Town communities:

WHEREAS, on April 19, 1993, the four Town Council Presidents of the Quad Town communities, acting in their capacity as the Joint Board of Council Presidents, executed an agreement with Safety Works, Inc. to prepare a feasibility study on said project;

WHEREAS, Safety Works, Inc., has successfully delivered said feasibility study to review by Quad Town;

WHEREAS, the Quad Town Communities of Highland, Schererville, St. John, and Dyer, Indiana, have reviewed said study and have determined that in the interest of promoting safety among the children of our communities, it is in each community's best interest to proceed with the proposed "Safety Village" project;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Town Council of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana, as follows:

- That the Town of St. John finds the "Safety Village" project is in the best interest of their community and agrees to fully support said project as part of Quad Town.
- 2. The Town Council President is authorized to execute any and all necessary documents to proceed with said project.
- The Town of St. John agrees to be bound by the terms of the contract executed with Safety Works, Inc., in connection with this project.
- 4. Notwithstanding the above, the Town of St. John acceptance of the above responsibilities is contingent upon approval of a similar written resolution of support enacted by the Town Councils of all four Quad Town communities, as well as ratification by the Joint Board of Council Presidents, as outlined in the Quad Town Interlocal Cooperation Agreement.

DULY ADOPTED by the Town Council of the Town of St. John, Lake County, Indiana this 27th day of December, 1993, being passed by a vote of  $\underline{\mathcal{J}}$  in favor and  $\underline{O}$  opposed.

DOUGLAS E. PATTERSON, President

YETH D. GEMBALA. Vice-President

CARL BROWN, Member

ATTEST: